Life 'n' Stuff · Writing

I’ve Been Employed!

Sorta. Kinda. I’m not getting paid. I don’t want to get paid. It’s joy enough that 700 people will see something I wrote.

What am I talking about you ask? And so I explain:

At our church summer camp every year, they have a video about the rules. You know, typical church camp stuff like being at all the meals and no PDA. It’s usually hilarious and leaves all the students in tears by the end. Last year was a cop theme, with a silly song in the background and people getting thrown against the wall by cops for breaking the rules. It’s a fun way to get all the middle school and high school students aware of how they should and shouldn’t act.

Well, today we had a meeting for a local missions trip I’m going on this summer. While we were chilling, waiting for the rest of them to show up, my youth pastor (let’s call him Ray) and one of our leaders (alias: Cody) were talking about what theme to make the video. And I asked them what they were talking about, and so they explained it to me. Then Cody (who knows I’m a writer) asked if would want to write a script for the video.

I wasn’t sure if he was joking or not, and they moved on to something else and then we had to go practice in our separate teams. (I get to teach sports camp songs to elementary kids down the street in July, but that’s another story.) So afterwards I found them and asked if they were serious.

They were.

I am seriously freaking out right now. I get to write a video that hundreds of people will see. I . . . I’m so happy . . . I can’t even explain it. Thank you so much, Lord!

There is one slight problem in that I don’t know how to write a script. I’ve always wanted to learn, though, and I’m sure I can find something online to teach me. C’mon, we’re not talking Hollywood here. This video will be shot and edited by our freaky (yet strangely lovable) worship leader and star a few of the church interns and/or high school students. I’ll write down some basic ideas and stuff. Can’t be too hard. Plus, I’m really all they have right now.

I’ve got a few ideas. I think the theme will be Star Wars, because it’s relevant and I’m such a geek. (Plus I can tease my Star-Trek-loving best friend while we watch it at camp.) Actually, it was kinda Cody’s idea. And they were all okay with it. I’ve got plenty of ideas. Example: How many of you church kids have heard the “Girls are red, boys are blue; don’t make purple” rule before? I’m thinking a red lightsaber clashing with a  blue one. Oh, come on! That’s too good to pass up!

Mostly I say all this because that means I’m going to be very busy right now. Camp is in two and a half weeks, and I promised Pastor Ray that I’d have a rough draft of the script written by Sunday. Yikes. I’m a huge procrastinator, so I’ve really got to set my mind to this, which means all distractions are now a no-no. No more blogs for a few days, probably not much reading/liking, and definitely no fanfiction. That’s for a few days at least, maybe more (depending on how much involvement I have in actually making the video). I’m really excited about this, and there’s quite a bit of pressure with the time.

(Y’know, honestly, I’m starting to get scared about the whole hundreds-of-people-will-see-this thing. I already said the videos have been hilarious in the past. I’ve got a lot to live up to.)

I’m not entirely sure if I’ll be credited or not (I can’t remember if there were credits in past videos; I think so, but I don’t know), but I’m really excited.

Doesn’t God work in amazing ways? He gave me this incredible talent for writing, and now I get to use it to serve Him and His church. I’ve always wondered what good writing would be in a church community, and I think I’m finding out. Let me tell you, I am thanking God so much in my heart right now. And I will definitely make sure that this opportunity doesn’t go to waste.

Script writing is something I’ve always wanted to try my hand at. Now I have the perfect opportunity. I can’t wait to explore this and find out if it’s something I might like to do in the future. I’ll always remember this day when I’m off writing the next big blockbuster! Haha, yeah, like that’ll happen. A girl can dream. 700 people is good enough for me right now.

So, I’ve got two and a half days to research script-writing and create a rough draft for a five-minute video. Wish me luck! (Also, if you have any advice for script writing, any at all, please let me know. I don’t want to bomb this!) I’ll see you all in a few days after this mad rush is over. Bye!

~ Rosie

2 thoughts on “I’ve Been Employed!

  1. OMG! I’m so happy for you! 👏 😀 I actually make videos for a side hobby. But mine aren’t written like that. I film action shots of my brother’s travel baseball team and edit them to music. I actually just posted one on You Tube!

    I’d love to see this! I mean, it’s Star Wars. But web security and all that …. oh, well! Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do great 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m really excited! They liked my script, and we’ll film it tomorrow morning. Oh, neat! That sounds fun. I don’t know much about actually shooting videos. I’m leaving that to our worship leader. XD
      I asked my parents about putting a link to the video on my blog (because I’m pretty sure our worship leader will put it on YouTube), and they said they’d think about it. Or maybe I could just PM you a link when it’s finished. Maybe. We’ll see. 🙂 And thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

