Do You Really Want This?

I don’t think you do. In fact, I can almost guarantee you that you don’t. What am I talking about? Here, let me put things in context for you.

I’ve seen quite a few people on the internet (and perhaps a few in real life) who say that a world without religion would be much better. I want you think long and hard about that statement. Long and hard. Now, sure, a lot of the people who say stuff like that are internet trolls with no lives who want to get people riled up, but I’m willing to bet that at least a few of them are serious.

Let me ask you this: What would it take to get rid of religion? How far would you be willing to go to make sure the word “god” is never spoken on this planet again? This is a serious question. I want to know. I think that if you thought hard, “far” would be a lot further than you’ve ever dreamed.

I am a Christian. Now, do you want to know what it would take to get me to renounce my beliefs in Jesus? Death. You have to kill me. In other words, I’m not taking back a word of my faith. I believe whole-heartedly in God, and nothing you say to me will change that.

There are many, many lukewarm believers out there from all faiths–they’re usually the ones who will say, “Oh, I’m not religious.” A lot of them would probably renounce their beliefs before they allowed someone to shoot them. But I know there are millions upon millions of people out there–Christians, Muslims, Buddhists, Hindus, Jews, you name it–that would sooner die they say their god (or gods) doesn’t exist. In fact, many have died and are dying all for their faith over the world, but that’s a topic for another time.

My point is, you would have to hold us against a wall and machine gun us down before we give up our faith and stop worshipping. Are you willing to go there? You would have to kill millions before you’d get this “utopia” you imagine.

What I have to say next is sensitive and dangerous, but after a lot of careful thinking, I’ve decided that it’s pretty accurate. I’m sorry if this offends you, but it’s time for some brutal honesty.

You want to know who else said, “Hey, let’s get rid of (a) religion?” Adolf Hitler. Yup, I said it, and I’m not taking it back. While I was studying World War II this year, I found some shocking parallels between his ideas and the ideas of our world today.

“The Jews are responsible for Germany’s economic crisis.”

“Religion is responsible for all the wars.”

“The Jews are evil and only care about themselves.”

“Religious people are evil and only care about themselves.”

“The Jews should be wiped off the face of the earth.”

“Religion should be wiped off the face of the earth.”

Of course, none of these things are true. Jews were not responsible for Germany’s economic crisis, and religion is not responsible for all the wars (WWII is a case in point). People still believed the lies, however. People still believe those lies today.

We all know what happened to the Jews. Over six million were killed, and it’s still considered one of the evilest acts in history.

The point? If you want to get rid of religion, you will have to start another Holocaust. You will have to pick up your guns and mow us down like we’re not worth anything. If you want religion gone, you’ve got a lot of messy, bloody work ahead of you. But hey, I’m sure history will thank you for getting rid of religion. I mean, look how it thanked Hitler for getting rid of all those Jews. Wait . . .

I got a new idea for a book recently based off of this whole idea. If I have time someday, I’d definitely love to write it and show the world what getting rid of religion really looks like. The working title is “Extermination Plan,” and the main characters are a young Christian pastor and a teenage Muslim girl. They have to fight for their freedom and rights in a futuristic, dystopian world shockingly similar to WWII era Europe, where practicing religion of any kind is a crime punishable by death. Or they could be sent to “work camps” where people are slaughtered by the dozens. It’s not a pleasant world, obviously, and so the story would revolve around the two of them trying to find hope and peace in all of the trails.

That is the kind of world you would create if you tried to get rid of religion. And you can tell me that religion will die out slowly, if you’d like, but you and I both know that’s not going to happen. We’re too big to be destroyed. I can’t speak for all religions, but Christianity has been around for 2000 years, and even when the Romans massacred the Christians–who were much fewer in number then than they are now–we stuck around. Sorry, buddy, but we’re here to stay.

I won’t say all followers of a religion are perfect. They’re not. We’re human, just like you, okay? We mess up. People kill people over religion. There are wars and violence because of it. You thought I would deny that? You’re sadly mistaken. But (from a Christian perspective) that’s not God’s fault. (Or religion’s fault, for that matter.) I know the Christian God is perfect, and I am but a foolish sinner. So are all of us. We ruin our reputation and do awful things. Why do you feel the need to take it out on all the particulars of religion who have been living peacefully all this time?

One more thing before I wrap this up. The world you imagine without religion isn’t as great as you might think. Yup, here’s the “religion is morality” card, though I’m not going to take it to quite that extreme. I believe atheists are capable of living peacefully and (mostly) morally. But what do you do when there are atheists who won’t live peacefully? Say there’s a man who kills his coworker because his coworker was annoying him. Is he really at fault? After all, he felt like the only way he could made the other guy shut up was to kill him. Was it so wrong for him to follow his feelings? (Sound familiar?) How can you possibly fault a man for murdering someone in that case? It’s discrimination tell him he can’t do something, even if he really, really wants to! In short, there may be some shred of morality left without religion, but I assure you that whatever immorality there is in the world will quickly suffocate it. And anyway, if you had to murder millions of Christians, Jews, and Muslims to get to this all-atheist world, what’s one more person, right? I’m calling double standard here.

I’m going to ask you again: Do you really want this? Do you really want to start a second Holocaust just to get rid of something you think is annoying? Do you really want to murder millions just so you can have your way? Do you really want to live in a world without us? Do you really want to commit another great evil, the likes of which haven’t been seen since the days of Hitler?

Think long and hard. Do you really want this?

I think you don’t.

14 thoughts on “Do You Really Want This?

  1. Interesting post. You have used a very sensitive topic to make your point. However, I disagree. Using the Holocaust to describe non-believers is inappropriate. Anyways, I am the person who you would consider “lukewarm.” I was raised in Christianity, but today I don’t practice it at all. Not because I don’t believe in God, but because religion has been more of a bondage to me than freedom. Today I allow myself to freely doubt and explore different philosophies and ways of life, without the fear of being condemned forever. If you feel peace and happiness with religion, I applaud you. I don’t wish for religion to stop existing at all, since it helps some people. But religion is not for everyone. Definitely not for me. My life has been better without religion.

    Like

    • I know the Holocaust is a dangerous topic. However, I’m not really comparing anything to that. It was to make a point that that’s what it would take to get rid of religion. It’s not necessarily limited to non-believers. It could the aliens from a distant galaxy! You could wipe out humanity and I still wouldn’t give up my faith. See, I deeply respect you for being so open minded about this. This post wasn’t really directed at people like you. It was more for those who think that destroying a way of life will make them happy. Your choice is your choice, and I can respect that, whether or not I agree. Thank you for the comment! It’s always wonderful to see diverse opinions. 🙂

      Like

  2. This is so beautiful! Thank you for being so honest about your opinions towards these type of people. I completely agree: a second Holocaust would not be worth it to eradicate religion from this Earth. I’m a Muslim girl, and I’d rather die than reject my belief in God. Again, thank you for your opinion in this matter. Peace be upon you!

    Like

    • I’m glad! I thought it was time someone spoke up about this. Thank you so much for the sweet comment. 🙂 Of course, I’m not a Muslim, but I definitely respect you for your beliefs and standing strong in the face of opposition. That’s one thing we seem to have in common. 😉 Thanks again!

      Like

  3. You can’t take over religion by force. Just like ISIS can’t truly force people to convert to Islam, you can’t force someone to ‘de-convert’. It is not as simple as just ‘choosing’ to be religious or not, you can say these things or practice religious rituals, you can even trick others into thinking you believe/disbelieve, but it is very hard to trick yourself into believing/disbelieving in something.

    According to recent polls, religion is on a major decline, and it’s not due to atheists ‘forcing’ people to de-convert. The world in general is growing out of superstition, and it is an unstoppable force. Many, many atheist Youtubers thought that they would never become atheist, but one by one, they did.

    A world without religion would eradicate religion-related crime, bigotry and hatred. History has taught us that no other cause has brought more death than the word of God and other religions. It would be unnecessary to burn all Bibles and make saying God’s name a crime, despite the problems religion has caused, it is still a source of interesting literature and artwork. I think that one of the reasons that religion causes hate is because it claims to be the only way, the one and only right answer. This way of thinking is obviously going to cause problems; it’s a very aggressive approach.

    It would be great if everyone could all get along, but that’s just not how humans work. Whether it’s race, sex, politics or religion, humans are good at arguing about things. But what other reasons do people have to hate on atheists and homosexuals other than a 2000 year old book? None whatsoever. So eventually, probably by the end of the century, either a passive form of deism or spirituality will take over, or everyone will end up Godless.

    Like

    • Of course. I don’t believe that forcing someone to believe anything is ever the answer. That’s actually part of my point. If you wanted to “eliminate” religion, you’d have to kill us all first.

      I’m not really worried about that. a) God’s got it under control, and b) I wonder how many of those people have lied on previous polls. XD Yup, religion in a decline. Guess it’s not “cool” enough, huh? 😉 Numbers rise and fall all the time. Well, if you put out that argument, might I remind you that the reverse has happened just as many times. Staunch atheists who would never have believed in God found themselves giving their lives over to Him when faced with the overwhelming evidence.

      There is religion-related crime and bigotry. Let me tell you right now, if someone is spouting hatred in the name of religion, they certainly don’t follow my God, and on their behalf, I apologize. We’re all broken people. Eh, I’d have to stop you right there. Got the numbers? Because I’m pretty sure that Hitler and Stalin alone killed more people than religion ever has. You don’t believe that sickness or abuse or injuries or disasters or war have killed more than religion? I’d have to see those statistics, because that’s a pretty bold claim. Of course, I do believe it’s the only way. But if you disagree, what can I do? Obviously I’m trying to get you to see the light, because I care about you as a human. But if you turn away, I won’t hate you. Far too many Christians preach in a hateful way, and trust me, it annoys me just as much as it annoys you.

      No, I’m afraid it’s not. Have you ever wondered why? Random question, one that I think my “religion” answers, but I’m just curious. 🙂 Well, I’ve never hated on an atheist or homosexual before, and if I have, I apologize right now. I might not agree with them, but I still love them. And yup, it’s ’cause God said to. Haha! Well, that 2000 year old book is the most historically accurate document ever written and passed the internal, external, and bibliographic tests with flying colors. Hey, whatever you need to tell yourself. 😉 Of course, I don’t believe God will let His people die out. I am thoroughly excited whenever I see a thought-provoking piece of evidence that only shows how real our God was and is. (Whether it be in archeology, science, history, etc.)

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I love different opinions. And while I don’t agree with you, I’m not going to try to force anything on you. Just so long as you don’t try to force anything on me. 😉 And by the way, in case we ever start a good ol’ debate again, my faith is entirely my own. Not my parents’ or my pastor’s, mine. Apologetics is one of my favorite subjects, and I adore science. Anyway, just thought I’d let you know I’m not some pushover teen who’ll believe every little thing you tell her. 😉 Thanks again for commenting! ❤

      Like

      • While the numbers of religious may go up and down, countries in Europe have gone from 20% to 80% atheist within the last few decades, with Sweden, Norway, the UK and the Czech Republic leading. Estonia is the most atheistic country, with over 80% atheist. Religion is increasing in lesser developed countries, but in better developed countries; materialism and science give people other things to focus on in their lives. Religion used to be a huge thing, mainly because it contained many, many answers, a built-in moral compass, and a thing to keep a community together. But the information age and all of it’s technology is overtaking religion.

        People could have lied on polls, but they wouldn’t have much of a motive for it, and the idea that perhaps hundreds of people would have lied is a bit far-fetched.

        It isn’t just about Christian based apologetics causing unnecessary hatred, going back in history you can see that religion really has killed the most people. Sure, the black death killed a third of the population of Europe, but there are holy wars, witch trials, the Spanish inquisition, burning people at stake, protestants and Catholics murdering each other in the VIctorian era, Jihads, the Taliban, terrorism, and not to mention all of the ancient wars that were fought in the name of Greek, Egyptian and Aztec religions, and those are just a few examples.

        As I said earlier, religion has an aggressive approach which is bound to cause tension, but hopefully the discrimination and bigotry will be wiped out, but whether religion in general must go, I am not sure. 😉

        Hitler was a catholic, not an atheist. He forced religion on his schools and army, he had them swear by God and have ‘Got Mitt Uuns’ – God is with us – on their belts, he said that he was doing the work of a divine being, and he had holy crosses with Swastikas on them. Hitler was definitely religious.

        As for the Bible, I have a post coming out on my blog in about a week’s time, but I will post a brief summary here: The Bible started off with a handful of stories that were passed down orally for about 500 years, getting exaggerated and changed as time went on, when it was finally written down it went through another few hundred years of being translated, copied, bits were added, bits were removed, the entire book was shuffled about, stories based on other religions were put in, it was copied again, the originals were lost, and the whole process repeated itself a few times. A few verses are completely new! And a lot of what the Bible says is incorrect; such as the fact that it failed prophecies about Nebuchadnezzar and the destruction of Tyre, and it even got the number of cities in Israel wrong!

        Like

      • Thanks for the numbers! It’s so interesting to see what’s going on in the world. Of course, I think many people use science as an escape from believing in God; after all, He commands many things that people find uncomfortable. Humanity has been doing this for centuries. It’s just that science better than ever before. (Still, remember how advanced the Greeks and Romans were in science, yet we still fell into the dark ages after that.)

        Very true. Although perhaps it wasn’t lying as much as it was they didn’t really know what they believed. Still, you’re probably right. And again, I’m not scared. My God’s got it. 😉

        Yes, that’s correct. Although, most of those “religions” that caused so many wars in the past (tribal religions, for example) no longer exist, and once people started reading the Bible for themselves, the violence in the name of Christianity seemed to die down. (Except for those few crazies out there–I highly doubt they follow my God anyway.) Do I need to point out all the awful things done in the name of science? The experiments, the torture, the violence that spawned from that? But you’re not going to give up on science just because a few bad people did bad things with it in the past, right? So why should I do the same thing with religion?

        I agree that love should be prominent in our society. Unfortunately, it seems that no one is very good at that anymore. People will be people, I guess. XD

        Funny, I’ve heard that before. Yet, I’ve only heard it from atheists. Every history book I’ve ever read made no mention of his religion. In fact, in most personal testimonies, people have said that Hitler called himself a god, and they worshipped him as if he was such. Let me tell you that no man who did things like he did follows my God. If he claimed to be Catholic, I’m sure it was for show–you know, to gain popularity. But, who knows?

        It is possible that that happened with select books of the Bible (Ruth, for example), but the entire New Testament at least was written within 70 of Jesus’s death, and written by eyewitnesses or people who had talked to eyewitnesses. And of course the translations we have probably aren’t perfect, but the discrepancies are so minute that they’re not important. (Not every language expresses things the same way, of course; stuff like that is bound to happen.) The Bible was copied down by those who would to keep it as accurate as possible–people like monks and Jewish scribes. It was their job to get it right. Funny, because wasn’t Tyre destroyed? And how about all those prophecies about Jesus? They were written hundreds of years before His birth, yet were incredibly accurate, down to the smallest details. (I won’t argue about the cities, seeing as how I know nothing about that.) Sorry, but I stand by the historical, archeological, and literary evidence provided for the Bible. I’m convinced by facts. 🙂

        Like

  4. The hilarious thing is, the only ones holding people against the wall forcing them to convert… Are religious! You don’t get this with atheism. If your God is happy to watch you die declaring your love for him, you can have him.

    Like

    • Mmm, very true. Atheists have a very different tactic: publicly shaming, mocking, and humiliating Christians at every turn. Nonetheless, it is a tactic. It seems to me that if I’ve got nothing worth dying for, I’ve got nothing worth living for either. So I will live and die for my Savior, if need be. After all, He died for me. 😉 Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  5. This is a tough subject to tackle. Whether you are right in the Hitler analogy is not something I’d like to address. Honestly, I’m not sure. However, I am wholeheartedly with you on one thing – I too would rather die than give up my faith. Let’s face it – I follow a crucified God. I am called to be like Him. Do the math 🙂
    But then again, He’s also the risen King, conqueror of death – what is there to fear?

    Way to be bold in this post. Even if we don’t all see eye to eye, this will stir up some great conversations!

    Like

    • I wasn’t really saying that all atheists are as bad as Hitler, because they certainly aren’t! But it would take something that dark, that drastic, that evil to turn me away from God. That’s more of what I meant. Exactly! If God died for us, why shouldn’t we die for Him?
      Again, precisely! 😀 If God raised Christ back to life, what could we possibly be afraid of?
      Thanks so much! I think it’s wonderful to see so many different opinions. Intellectual debate is never a bad thing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I really do love your post and I do believe that all your points are accurate. Although, I do have to disagree on one thing. I’m a Christian and I’d rather die than renounce my beliefs. Despite this, some of my best friends are atheists and I’ve learned to respect all people equally. Now, one of my best friends, I’ll call her J, is a devout atheist and probably wants to wipe religion of the face of the Earth. When I think about it, I don’t believe she wants to wipe out the people. I believe she wants to wipe out the belief. Not just Christianity but all religion whatsoever. That will never truly happen, I know that for sure, but right now I’m focusing on what they want/believe.

    I have another friend, let’s call him J2, (Yes, about all of my friends have names starting with a J, it’s weird) who is also a devout atheist. But unlike J, J2 is homosexual. Now with an abundance of thinking, I have come to realize why. We all know what the Bible says about homosexuality.

    Leviticus 18:22 You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination.

    Now, I’ve begun to realize a certain thing about J2 and many other atheists I know. (Note: I do not know many whatsoever but this is still one of my conclusions) It’s not that he doesn’t believe that there is a holy spirit out there. He didn’t stray from God for that reason. He did it because he didn’t want to believe. Now, let’s be honest. If we could think of a future for ourselves in this world, we’d like it to be positive, right? So when we imagine it, it’s usually positive. But what if a magic wizard came by and told you that you had a terrible fate. You may believe it, you may not, but you know for one thing. You don’t WANT to believe it. Not all, but some atheists , just like J2, don’t want there to be a religion whatsoever. Not as in, people don’t believe in God anymore, but they don’t WANT there to be a Christian god in the first place, or whatever else. Because they are afraid.

    Now, I just have to say this. I am NOT an expert on this topic. The only athesits I know well are J and J2. But this is my personal opinion and I hope you take that into account. (Wow, the I hope you take this into account thing sounded, WAY, to formal. Oh well) Wait, yea, that last line is bugging me.

    Last Line rewrite: I… Yea I got nothing, just pretend that last line wasn’t there.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment! Of course, I certainly wasn’t trying to say that all atheists are evil people who hate the religious. Many of them are actually quite sweet. 🙂 Yes, that’s how many people think. I think it’s great that you’re still respecting your friend’s beliefs. It’s important to show people love, whether or not they agree with you.

      Yes, indeed. It’s sad how many turn away for their own selfish desires. 😦 Still, you should always love him anyway, which you seem to be doing just fine. 🙂

      Unfortunately, a lot of people think that way. Our God does call us to a very high standard that isn’t easy to meet. He says things that make us uncomfortable, and because of that some will turn away. We should anticipate that. Of course, God still loves people like J2, but He does call them to give up their sin, which is not an easy thing.

      Thank you for your opinion. Haha, it’s fine. I sound way too formal sometimes too. 😉 And this stuff can be very hard when it affects you personally. I’ll be praying for you and your friends. Thanks again for the comment! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

