Allergy Awareness · Life 'n' Stuff

Why Allergies Suck

Because I can’t even pet my dog without breaking out in hives.

I could write a whole book on this. (Maybe I will someday.) But, long story short, allergies suck. Nature hates me, food can kill my brothers . . . yeah.

The entire list of my allergies? Grass, cats, trees, dogs, and weeds . . . and those are only the ones I remember. One of my younger brothers is allergic to dairy, and the other to peanuts (to the point where even the slightest contact could kill him). They definitely have it worse than I do. My dad is allergic to nature just like I am, as well as peppermint and honey (weird, huh?). And my mom has seasonal allergies too. We’re one crazy family.

So why am I writing all this? Because I currently have my left arm hovering over my desk instead of resting on it because I don’t want to get hydrocortisone cream all over my laptop. All this because I let my dog sit in my lap and now I’ve got three itchy red dots on my arm. It feels like someone’s pinching me. Ow.

Why do we even have a dog if our family’s allergic? . . . Good question. But we kids would all have breakdowns if you tried to take him away from us. I still love him, even if I have to wash my hands after every time I pet him.

I’d like to blog more about allergies soon, since they’ve affected me and my family so personally. For example, I desperately want to explain the difference between a milk allergy and lactose intolerance, since some people think they’re the same thing. But I’ll save that for another post.

Anyway, how many of you out there have allergies? Are they people I can relate to? Please tell me there’s someone else out there who has avoided going to a friend’s home because they own a cat . . .

2 thoughts on “Why Allergies Suck

  1. Wow! Man, I’m sorry, but I couldn’t imagine living like that! I have a few:

    I’m a skin kid. Until I was about seven I had SERVERE eczema. It’s like constantly having poison ivy, only your skin’s not oily. It’s dry and flaky and bleh :-/

    I have a slight allergy to pecans. Nothing big, but if I have too many I get blisters in my mouth.

    And seasonal allergies. In the spring and fall. But they’re not bad at all.

    So yeah. My dad’s allergic to cats, despite that our cat named Mouse loves to hang around him. It’s funny to watch 😀 And, just being the creepy dog lover I am, what breed of dog do you have? I know Bichion Frises (I believe that’s how you spell it) are hypo allergenic. As are a few others……but that’s getting off topic 🙂 Hope your blisters go away!

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh, yes, someone who gets me! I have eczema too (though it hasn’t been very bad the past couple of years). Eh, drove me crazy!

      We have a beagle. Not hypoallergenic, but they do have short hair, so they’re not as bad as some dogs. He still sheds. A lot. XD But I love him too much to want to get rid of him. Thanks for the comment! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

