Music Speaks · Musings of a Christian Girl

Prayer for a Friend

Do you ever have that moment where you hear something or see something that touches you so deeply, on a personal level, and it just drives you to tears? That happened to me today. I was going through some of my music, specifically, my Casting Crowns albums. I haven’t heard all the songs on every album (there’s nearly seventy tracks), but I saw a song called “Prayer for a Friend.” I’ve heard it maybe once before, but I decided to listen to it again today.

My word.

Everything, everything in this song resonates with me. It moved me to tears as I prayed the words of this song over my own best friend. She’s amazing, and I love her to pieces, but she’s worrying me lately. She’s still fairly new to her faith, and I’m worried that the world is trying to rip it away from her already.

That’s why this song made me cry. I guess it reminded me that she’s in God’s hands. She’s His daughter, and He won’t let her fall into harm. I’ve done everything I can for her. Unfortunately, I’m only human. I’ve talked to her, deeply, openly, and honestly, that was one of the highlights of my summer. All I can do now is pray. I won’t be there for her during school, during her different classes; I see her about once a week at youth group. I can’t be there during everything that happens, during every temptation she’ll face. But God will be there.

“Better is open rebuke than hidden love. Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.” – Proverbs 27:5-6

I know she doesn’t like everything I have to say. I know. But I just want her to stay strong in the Lord in a world that doesn’t. I love her so much, and I know that falling away from God can seriously hurt a person. We share a lot of things, like our love our writing, and I want to share a relationship with the Lord as well.

God holds her. I have to rest in that. He will give me wisdom and strength in loving her even when it’s hard, and giving me tact and love when I speak to her.

So it is with desperation and sincerity that I pray:

God, You know who my friend is. You know what she’s dealing with, even more than I do. You love her so much more than I ever could. Which blows my mind, because You know I love her a lot.

Thank You so much for putting her in my life. You know how wonderful she’s been to me; she gets me like few people do. She’s wonderful and quirky and weird. She’s creative and fun and just downright amazing. You know that. You made her that way. Thank You for making such an awesome person, and thank You for allowing me the pleasure of knowing her.

God, I don’t want her to fall prey to the world’s selfish ways. She and You have just gotten started in your walk, and I don’t want her falling away so soon. She’s so bright and smart and she knows the right way. You’ve given her such a kind and gentle spirit, and she knows how to come to You for forgiveness. Please, don’t ever let her forget that.

When I speak to her, give me the words to say. Not my words, Your Words. You know so much better than I do. Give me strength and courage. You know how much I, like Moses, stumble over my words and forget what to say. Only You could help me. I’ve seen you do it before, and it was awe-inspiring. Please, help me do it again.

God, I’ve done everything I can. All I can do now is pray for Your guidance over her. Give her peace and love, and give her wisdom and clarity into Your Word. Thank You, Lord, for everything you’ve done and will continue to do in her life.

Lord, I lift my friend to You.

I’ve done all that I know to do.

I lift my friend to You.

Complicated circumstances have clouded her view.

Lord, I lift friend up to You.

I fear that I won’t have the words that she needs to hear.

I pray for your wisdom, O God, and a heart that’s sincere.

Lord, I lift my friend up to You.

Lord, I lift my friend to You.

My best friend in the world, I know she means much more to You.

I want so much to help her, but this is something she has to do.

Lord, I lift my friend up to You.

‘Cause there’s a way that seems so right to her, but you know where that leads.

She’s becoming a puppet of the world, too blind to see the strings.

Lord, I lift my friend up to You.

My friend up to You.

Lord, I lift my friend to You.

I’ve done all that I know to do.

I lift my friend to You.

4 thoughts on “Prayer for a Friend

  1. She is blessed to have a friend like you that would care so much about her walk with God. That’s what really matters in this life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

