A Desperate Prayer for Protection ((ARCHIVED))

((ARCHIVED))

Dear God,

There’s a fire blazing just a few miles from my house. Right by the same places we shop, where we eat and play and get together. Not far from my friends. Not far from me.

I haven’t been this scared in a long time, God. My fingers are shaking so much I can barely type. My dad says that at any moment he’s ready to grab the dog and me and get the heck out of here. I’m terrified.

Three houses already caught on fire. God, I pray for those people. I pray that no one was hurt. Please, Lord, give them peace as well.

Ash is falling in our backyard. It smells like a barbecue out there. I’m so scared.

God, I pray for the firefighters. I pray that you would give them strength and courage and wisdom in how to fight this fire. Thank you for creating people brave enough to go out and protect all of us. They truly are a gift, and I will never be able to thank you enough for them.

I can hear all the helicopters and planes flying out to dump water on the fire. It’s really terrifying.

God, you know that when I was little, my biggest fear was that our house would catch on fire. I used to lie awake long into the night thinking about it–an irrational fear, maybe, and it overtook my life in a way that wasn’t healthy. I’m so sorry for that. You’ve given me more bravery as the years went on, and I haven’t been afraid of that in a long time.

God, I’m afraid now.

Please, heavenly Father, help me to put my trust in you. Only you can calm me down enough; only you can give me peace. Please, God, I’m begging you. I’m so scared. Father, comfort me, comfort my neighbors, all those around me. Strengthen the firefighters, those who must get close to this. Comfort those who have already lost things.

Fire is a beautiful thing, Lord. You created it to do many wonderful things. Thank you for fire.

Just please don’t let it hurt anyone today!

Comfort, strength, protection . . . you have promised all those things to us. Help us to remember today that no matter what happens to any of us, you are here. You are with us, Lord. You love us, and you will give us peace in the hard and scary times. Thank you, God. Thank you so much for that.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “A Desperate Prayer for Protection ((ARCHIVED))

  1. Wow. You’re in my thoughts and prayers 😊 Stay safe!

    Fire really is a blessing. It ‘burned’ a bush for Moses. It lit the way for the Isrealites. God sent it to burn up Elijah’s offering, then took him up in a burning chariot. The world will one day be ‘judged’ with it. It’s happening to you for a reason, and only God knows what good may come of it. Keep praying! 🙏📖

    Like

    • Thank you! That’s very true. It’s beautiful, but I still don’t want it to burn down my house. XD I appreciate your prayers! Thankfully no one was hurt. I’m just glad it’s over. Now to pray for those 13,000 people a few hours away from me who had to evacuate their houses because of a massive brush fire . . . 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

