Why Autocorrect Sucks ((ARCHIVED))

((ARCHIVED))

Woo, it’s been a long time since I posted, and now it’s a pretty useless post. Yay!

So you know autocorrect, that often strange and usually wrong thing on phones and computers that helps you spell words correctly? Yeah. Not always helpful.

Now, I type fast, and often I spell simple words wrong. So autocorrect actually helps me a lot. But not all the time.

The weirdest thing (until today) that ever happened to me regarding autocorrect was my phone correcting the name of a character (Chase) to some five-syllable word that I looked up and discovered was a Babylonian dynasty! (Which unfortunately I forget the name of.) Granted, I started his name with an x instead of a c, but still, come on!

So a few minutes ago (and still right now, in fact) I was writing a sequel to my Lab Rats fanfiction story, Dark Enough, and, well, this happened:


Yes, folks, I tried to write the word swallowed and it changed it to zwalkend. In case you’re wondering, zwalkend is not a word!

(Not an English word, anyway. I just looked it up and it’s Dutch for drifting. Hey, you learn something new every day!)

In case you’re curious, that was written in Pages, which doesn’t exactly have the best autocorrect. I didn’t even hit the z key!

Welp, that’s my life.

I’m typing this on my phone, so if anything seems wrong, I sincerely apologize. Autocorrect is out for my blood today. It just tried to change anything to Anthony.

Have a goods fast eve tinge!

Help!

Edit: I just hit the undo button to see exactly what it was I typed to end up with zwalkend. Get this, so I misspelled swallowed, but I spelled it like this: “swalloed.” And my computer decides I meant zwalkend. Well duh, of course that’s what I wanted to type! In fact, for swalloed, the two manual suggestions to fix it are zwalkend (a Dutch word) and zwalpend (which is not a word in any language).

. . .

. . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

And today is the day logic died. I would abandon you, Pages, if I didn’t need you so desperately to write stories.

Time to get ask my dad to download Word on my Mac! You failed me, Apple!

7 thoughts on “Why Autocorrect Sucks ((ARCHIVED))

    • Oh, definitely! XD I’m actually not a good speller, so autocorrect is sometimes helpful to me . . . until it tries to teach me new languages. XD It’s a good thing I’m a perfectionist who checks everything over twice! 😀 Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

